Spanish Flashback

February 28, 2010 at 4:53 pm (look)

Today I’m starting work on a painting for a friend, and I figured it was about time I posted some pictures from the last series of work I did, based on Spanish architecture I saw during my Spring 2007 semester abroad. The 25 small paintings were for a show at 20th Street Art Gallery that ran Nov.-Dec. Here are a few highlights.

The bullfighting ring in Sevilla:

Houses in Granada:

The interior dome of a cathedral, city forgotten:

A graffitied wall in Granada:

A pillar in Parque Güell in Barcelona:

A bench, also in Parque Güell:

A cathedral in Sevilla:

The Thyssen-Bornemisza museum in Madrid:

Stained glass windows, all over Europe:

Who’s up for a vacation?

1 Comment

  1. Liz said,

    Me. Let’s go!

    Since I don’t have the talent, like you, to have painting fill the deep void leaving Spain left in my heart, I’ve been watching Spanish TV. I’m only two episodes into “Amar en tiempos revueltos” and I’m already entertained. I prescribe it for nostalgia.

    Love the Granada graffiti, by the way. It’s my favorite of the (entirely stellar) bunch.

Leave a Reply

