Cover Story

March 14, 2009 at 2:13 pm (look)

Ok. So clearly I fell off the face of the earth for awhile. But I’ve been busy! With work and painting, which is the reason for this back-from-the-dead post.

anne-shulock-30_100-years-of-solitude

anne-shulock-32_bel-canto

anne-shulock-20_killer-cronicas

Since January 30, I’ve been participating in the 50-50 show for 20th Street Art Gallery. The conceit: 0ver 70 artists each do one painting a day (on a 6″x6″ panel) for 50 days. My original thought–that each painting would take about 2 hours–underestimated my perfectionism, drying time, and all that jazz, and turns out that it’s really time consuming to do a painting every single day. (Friend on a Friday night: “You’re leaving the bar at 9:30?” Me: “Sorry, I have to go paint!”)

But it is also really fun, and as I ever-so-eloquently said to my mom the other day, “I’ve done a shit-ton of paintings!” (41, to be exact.) Each artist has to have a theme, and my paintings are all inspired by the covers of my favorite books.

Other people have written about the show/my paintings, so instead of being repetitive, I’ll send you over to the blog of my lovely co-worker Jon: click here.

And to a local online newspaper: click here.

And to the art gallery’s website about the show: click here.

So, anyone in the Sacramento (or Bay) area, you’re cordially invited to see the show. It will be up from April 8-May 30 (though in May it will just be what hasn’t sold from April), with the opening reception on April 11 from 6-9pm.

p.s. the paintings above are for One Hundred Years of Solitude, Bel Canto, and Killer Cronicas, respectively.

Leave a Reply

