Mamma Mia!

January 2, 2008 at 4:47 am (hear, watch)

I know that ABBA’s music, and the musical based on it, is totally cheesy, but I don’t care. I’ve seen the stage show twice, and I just found out that there’s a movie version coming out next summer! Here’s the trailer:

Now, I know Meryl Streep is basically the best actress of all time, but I really don’t see her as Donna (the mom). Donna is super feisty and tough, and I feel like Streep looks too delicate. I think part of the problem for me is that in the stage show she is a brunette, and the long blonde hair just throws me off.

As a side note, the guy playing Sophie’s fiance has great abs.

As another side note, the two guys from ABBA also wrote a terrific and under-appreciated musical called Chess that was a hit in London but bombed on Broadway in 1988. It’s about chess and the cold war, and has a song with this mouthful as the chorus:

It’s very sad to see
The ancient and distinguished game that used to be
A model of decorum and tranquility
Become like any other sport
A battleground for rival ideologies
To slug it out with glee.

So I can see why audiences might not be all gung-ho, but it has beautiful songs.

Ignore the extremely dated hair and costumes… (this is from London):

This is from the Broadway cast recording. There’s nothing to look at, but just listen:

1 Comment

  1. Max said,

    I was a bit surprised to read that in the stage show Donna has blond hair. I’ve seen a few productions with a Donna who’s having blond hair. Well, I’ve seen some trailers and I think that Meryl is doing a great job.

Leave a Reply

