Regina!

November 1, 2007 at 6:54 am (hear)

Last night I saw Regina Spektor at the Wiltern and she was amazing. I love her albums Begin to Hope and Maryann Meets the Gravediggers–she has one of the best voices I’ve ever heard, and a silly sense of humor. Here’s an excerpt from one of the songs she sang last night (“Music Box”):

But when I do the dishes
I run the water very, very, very hot
And then I fill the sink to the top with bubbles of soap
And then I set all the bottle caps I own afloat
And it’s the greatest voyage in the history of plastic

I was expecting her to have a band, but it was actually just her playing piano (and guitar–or at least one string of it–on a couple of songs). Even though a couple of the songs, like her biggest hit “Fidelity,” didn’t sound as good without other instruments, it was really striking to hear the songs stripped down: there’s no hiding when it’s just you and a piano. She also did a cool version of “Hotel Song” with the opening act, Only Son, beatboxing. Here’s a video of that song not from last night, but actually from a show in Sacramento earlier this year. It’s also cute because she messes up on the last chorus, and then jumps around sort of embarrassed.

Leave a Reply

