Chop Chop

August 3, 2007 at 4:36 am (Uncategorized)

I’m not a very good cook. This may be because I don’t cook much–last summer in NYC, for example, 85% of my meals were precooked chicken apple sausages or boxed soup from Trader Joe’s and the other 15% were stir fried tofu over rice with peanut sauce (no vegetables or anything).

tofu.jpg

In 10th grade there was a party in my Algebra II class, so my talented sister made French layered puff pastries. I made two kinds of muffins from a box, but I used the directions on the back of the first box with the dry mix of the second, and the directions for the second box with the dry mix of the first box. Both kinds of muffins sucked.

muffin.jpg

One might say I couldn’t stand the heat and I got out of the kitchen. Then, a few weeks ago, I started watching Top Chef on Bravo (season 3) and now I want to go to culinary school. Maybe it’s because I’m competitive and I love the frenetic chopping and the race to finish, but cooking suddenly seems fun. I don’t understand half the words they use when describing their dishes (or even the challenges–one was to make an amuse bouche. Huh?) and every tiny, elegantly plated dish has fourteen components, but the food is pretty and I’m blown away by the talent. That people can dream up these food combinations and execute them is awesome!

top-chef-2.jpgtop-chef-3.jpgtop-chef.jpgtop-chef-4.jpg

I’m cooking dinner for my family soon, so we’ll see how that goes.

1 Comment

  1. Fran López said,

    Hey Anne!
    I’ve been laughing a lot with your muffins story… You’re so cute!
    PS: I really love your blog, go on with it!
    ;)

Leave a Reply

