Be be my love

June 30, 2007 at 7:57 am (hear)

According to Rachael Yamagata’s website, there is a new album coming soon. It doesn’t say when, and the “album appetizer” video has a somber, distinctly-autumn feel, so I’m guessing I have to wait a few more months. Until then, I’ll be rewatching this clip from last summer’s Austin City Limits of her playing “Be Be Your Love,” my favorite song off her debut album Happenstance (2004). I’ve always pictured her playing this song in a tiny, dark, smoky club, so it’s a kick to see her rocking aviator sunglasses and performing in the middle of the day to thousands of festival-goers. Miraculously, the song still seems intimate and atmospheric.

When her album first came out, I was annoyed that she was another artist getting compared to Fiona Apple (“Dear Entertainment Weekly and SPIN: Please stop comparing every female singer-songwriter-piano player with a slightly low voice to Fiona Apple. Ms. Apple is a singular talent who defies easy categorization and is a hell of a lot more nutso than any of these lightly-troubled ladies.”) However, Happenstance is a constant presence in my 25 top played and I’m excited to hear her next effort.

Leave a Reply

